Moderation Policy

Applied to content and user membership, at times retroactively
​

What is your Moderation Policy?

We've always maintained the following moderation policy with regards to deletion of content/messages from users.
Some of the moderation is manual and may be applied retroactively
  • Messages from "Deleted Accounts" or accounts that are no longer active
  • System / Platform messages (such as user X joined the group / has left the group)
  • Spam messages / repeating or duplicate messages (incl. forwarded messages) / external links, broken links, messages somehow sent or notifying @all.
  • Questions about other platforms
  • Mentions of @username without context, emojis without context either in text or name/username
  • Non-English messages in English only groups
  • Replies to deleted messages that are confusing / make no more sense without the context
  • Specific "Please check your PM/DM" messages or requests for private messages, particularly to administrators
  • Messages containing personal-, balance-, transaction- or account related information or support requests
  • Messages containing profanity, are in all CAPS or incite unwanted behavior as well as messages from accounts with names that are in primarily CAPS
  • Messages that are irrelevant, hard to understand, repeating or redundant
  • Messages that are very short (one letter), exceptions, an exception would be "?" and messages from user's name is only 1 letter or otherwise non-descriptive
  • Messages from misleading (or unwanted) usernames, promoting others, enumerating usernames, usernames containing links, phone numbers, usernames misrepresenting titles/credentials or users pretending to be moderators / administrators or impersonating others
  • Messages or bios containing referral codes / links
  • Messages from duplicate accounts or accounts with seemingly random names or accounts with names/usernames asking to be blocked.
  • Messages from accounts with names that are in all CAPS
  • Messages spreading false or inaccurate information
  • Messages from accounts that frequently change username / names
  • Messages from account that infringe on copyright, are misleading or try to represent other tradenames / brands
  • Messages from users that were added to the channel / platform involuntarily (by others) and are irrelevant
  • Messages begging for money / free money requests or promoting free money
  • Messages from anonymous accounts (for example, without username, mobile number, photo and incomplete name or containing random elements.
  • Trolls, FUD, messages in ALL CAPS, offensive content (including username or bio) or Doxxing
  • Messages from usernames containing (or asking for) (partial) addresses or other personal information (including bios)
  • Messages from usernames/names containing commas, emojis, or more numbers, symbols than letters or are all blank, are shorter than 3 or longer than 24 characters or contain 4 (or more) of the same character consecutively.
  • Messages from accounts with profile photos of a single color, babies, children, are misleading, contain nudity, profanity, are violent, shocking, threatening or are otherwise inappropriate
  • Bots or other non-human accounts, bot commands or perceived bot commands
  • Off-topic messages or test messages
Furthermore, messages may be deleted for the following other reasons
  • Violation of one of the policies of the respective platform
  • Expiration dates (timers) of individual messages are reached
  • Users delete their own messages
  • The message itself is over 3 years old and the posting user is no active in the respective community.
  • The age of the message surpasses the storage duration of the platform (i.e. 3 years for Telegram groups).
With regards to our own content, we remove our messages or untag ourselves if:
  • The message is a response to a message that no longer exists
  • Reposts / Retweets of external news that is no longer relevant
  • The message is a reply to a message containing personal- or account related information
  • The message is no longer relevant (i.e. 18 months+ old)
For official community groups that are inactive (Twitter, Telegram, etc.), in order to phase them out, users are unsubscribed / unfollowed in the following situations.
  • If their status indicates that they haven't been on the platform for more than a month, for example in Telegram they were last seen "a long time ago".